Home > Christian, for women, relationships, self-image > Prop’s to Mario Vazquez

Prop’s to Mario Vazquez

I know I’ve been sticking to my own personal reflections in my posts, but this guy deserves props for bringing a theological truth to the public in a way that no church sermon could. Those of you who watch American Idol might remember him from last season, but I don’t really watch much TV, so I’m behind the curve in pop culture. The first time I heard his song “Gallery” was actually on someone’s myspace profile, and as soon as it started playing I was thrown back. I probably listened to it 3-4 times before I realized this guy was singing a sincere song of concern for a girl he cared about who wasn’t being respected as the “priceless work of art” that she was. I didn’t know songs like that actually made it to record labels. Needless to say, I bought the CD the next day. He also gets extra props for being from the Bronx 🙂 Unfortunately, his CD sales didn’t do too well for this first CD of his. I hope he comes up with some more songs like that and I’m praying for his success.
Listening to that song reminded me of too many friends and acquaintances I have who sell themselves short to guys (or girls). Whether it is for money, fame, or just attention and the hope of “love” (true love never comes from someone with prerequisites and qualifiers). We as a society have tried to separate the female body from her spirit, and reduce a woman’s beauty to the sum of her parts. It has been so personally sad for me to see the effects that this has had on the women in my life. Women were created as the masterpiece of God’s creation; His very final work and his most beautiful one. We think we pay a woman a compliment when we call her an angel, but the reality is that it’s an insult to the beauty of her humanity. Angel’s are purely spiritual beings, creations of a creator, designed to serve. We were created body and spirit to image God, to be fruitful and multiply, to love as God loves. God didn’t send his son to die for angels. He came to die for his bride – the church – personified in every woman that he created. How beautiful she must be to him. If only we men realized the true depth of that mystery and beauty revealed in every woman we encounter in our lives. If only women realized the dignity they had and refused to be reduced to the object of others gratification. But alas, it is not so. why? Because Satan attacks that which is most sacred. He’s done such a good job, that it’s hard for most of us to even see what is so sacred (let me know if you want to talk more about that).

Below are the lyrics to Mario Vazquez’s song, “Gallery”. The music video is at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBpfpvicESU

I pray that every woman who sells her dignity short hears this message and takes it to heart:

God broke the mold,
When he made this one I know
She’s breathtaking but so much more
She walks in the room, your lungs close
Making you never want to breathe again
Her boyfriend has got so much dough
So much ice his neck and wrist froze
Is he faithful to her? Hell no
But she chose to be with him, shorty

Tell me is the money worth your soul
Tell me what’s the reason that you hold on
When you know that dude has a whole wall of ’em just like you
And girl you’re just way too fine
Gotta be treated as one of a kind
Girl use your mind
Don’t be just another dime

Because

I can’t take
Seeing you with him
‘Cuz I know exactly what you’ll be,
In his gallery
It’s just not fair
And it’s tearing me apart
You’re just another priceless work of art
In his gallery

She’s so confused
She knows she deserves more
Someone who will love and adore
But his money’s hard to ignore
She really doesn’t know what to do
Girl it’s just a matter of time
Before he finds another more fine
After he’s done dulling your shine
You’re out the door and he’s through with you

Tell me is the money worth your soul
Tell me what’s the reason that you hold on,
When you know that dude has a whole wall of ’em just like you
And girl you’re just way too fine
Gotta be treated as one of a kind
Girl use your mind
Don’t be just another dime

I can’t take
Seeing you with him
‘Cuz I know exactly what you’ll be
In his gallery
It’s just not fair
And it’s tearing me apart
You’re just another priceless work of art
In his gallery

You’re a masterpiece
I know that he
Can’t appreciate your beauty
Don’t let him cheapen you
He don’t see you like i do
Beautiful not just for show
Time that someone let you know

I can’t take
Seeing you with him
‘Cuz I know exactly what you’ll be
In his gallery
It’s just not fair
And it’s tearing me apart
You’re just another priceless work of art

I can’t take
Seeing you with him
‘Cuz I know exactly what you’ll be
In his gallery
It’s just not fair
And it’s tearing me apart
You’re just another priceless work of art
In his gallery
In his gallery

Please let me know I’m not alone on this one.
God bless,
John
AMDG

“The person who does not decide to love forever will find it very difficult to really love fore even one day.” ~Pope John Paul II

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

